Torrey Pines lacrosse racks up CIF championship three-peat

The Torrey Pines boys lacrosse team won the CIF championship.

The Torrey Pines High School boys lacrosse team won its eighth CIF championship on June 5 with a 10-3 victory over La Costa Canyon. The victory wrapped up a stellar 13-2 season.

The Falcons became the only team in San Diego Section history to three-peat, winning their third straight championship since the 2018 season—2020 didn’t get to happen due to COVID-19. After the win, the team proclaimed: “We did this for the class of ’20 because they didn’t get the opportunity.”

In the championship game, freshman Andrew Cook made 12 saves and junior Tayden Bultman scored four goals. Seniors Dewey Egan and Griffin Crawford each had two goals.

The team finished the season ranked as the #2 team in the West and as a Top 25 nationally-ranked program. The team was led by its nine seniors: Dewey Egan (North Carolina), Tyler Blackburn (Brown), Logan Gutzwiller (Notre Dame), Slater Simo (Bellarmine), Christian Lerose and Griffin Crawford (University of Washington), Mo Vanderwiel (Wagner) and Griffen Wilson (Cal Poly).