San Diego Film Critic Society chooses best of 2012

By Diana Saenger

The San Diego Film Critics Society voted “Argo” the Best Film of 2012, last week. The film dramatizes the events surrounding the rescue of American civil service staff following the 1979 takeover of the U.S. Embassy in Iran.

Ben Affleck, who also stars in the film, won the society’s Best Director award, while Christ Terrio won Best Adapted Screenplay and William Goldenberg won Best Editing for their efforts on the film as well.

Michelle Williams, playing a married woman falling for another man, won the society’s award for Best Actress. Daniel Day-Lewis took home Best Actor for “Lincoln.” Christoph Waltz, playing a bounty hunter in “Django Unchained,” won Best Supporting Actor, while Emma Watson was voted Best Supporting Actress for her work in “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” a film that also was awarded Best Ensemble Performance.

The society’s critics, comprising print, television, radio, podcast and Web critics working in San Diego County, also gave two awards to “The Master.”

Paul Thomas Anderson earned Best Original Screenplay honors, while Jonny Greenwood won Best Score.

“The Kid with a Bike” was chosen as Best Foreign Language Film. “Paranorman” won Best Animated Film and Kirby Dick’s “The Invisible War” was voted Best Documentary. Best Cinematography went to Claudio Miranda for his work on “The Life of Pi,” while Hugh Bateup and Uli Hanisch won Best Production Design for “Cloud Atlas.”

Greig Fraser, was honored for his 2012 Body of Work, as cinematographer for “Zero Dark Thirty,” “Snow White and the Huntsman” and “Killing Them Softly.”

The critics chose recently retired film critic Dan Bennett to receive the annual Kyle Counts Award The award, named after the late San Diego film critic, honors those who have made contributions to cinema in the San Diego. Bennett is the former film critic for the North County Times, a founding member of the San Diego Film Critics Society, and is the Festival Director for the San Diego International Children’s Film Festival.

Find more information at