Patrons of the Prado to honor 2012 ‘POP Stars’


Patrons of the Prado, a philanthropic organization that supports arts and cultural institutions in Balboa Park, will honor 11 “POP Stars” at its annual gala on Saturday, July 14.

Since its founding in 1998, Patrons of the Prado (POP) members have raised and awarded $2 million to 11 beneficiaries. To celebrate this milestone, the organization has created its first annual awards program to recognize individuals who have served each of the 11 member institutions in an outstanding manner.

The awards will be presented on Saturday, July 14, at California Dreamin’, Patrons of the Prado’s fundraising gala under the stars on the Prado by the Bea Evenson Fountain in Balboa Park. Beneficiaries will be honored at a brief award ceremony and guests will enjoy dinner by Jeffrey Strauss, chef of Pamplemousse Grille and dancing to the Wayne Foster Orchestra.

Patrons of the Prado is also honoring POP Founders Kathleen Buoymaster and Barbara MCColl. 2012 Gala co-chairs include Ellen Zinn, Arlene Esgate, Jeanne Jones, Lynne Wheeler, Pam Palisoul and Sandy Redman. RSVP to (858) 381-1817.