Local educators to receive Crystal Apple awards; Rancho Santa Fe School’s David Warner among honorees

The 19th Annual Crystal Apple Awards winners have been announced: Simeon Greenstein (Social Science/History) Torrey Pines High School; James Teague (Spanish) La Costa Canyon High School; David Main (Science/Biology) Canyon Crest Academy; John Oly Norris (Social Science) San Dieguito Academy; Kasey Galik (PE) Carmel Valley Middle School; Robert Shockney (History) Diegueno Middle School; Celia Walsh (Sciences) Oak Crest Middle School; Ann Cerny (History) Earl Warren Middle School; David Warner (Science) Rancho Santa Fe School; and Ted Williamson, who will be receiving a special award, is a tutor from Sunset High School.

The nominations come from almost 200 students who are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The students each choose a favorite educator, then write and submit a recommendation letter, which often conveys their gratitude to a particular teacher for taking the time to reach out to them individually. Choosing one winner for each school in the district is often difficult because there are dozens of inspiring educators chosen by the students.

The San Dieguito School District is served by many diligent, funny, intuitive, mentor/educators who will each receive a copy of their nomination even if they were not selected as their school’s winner.

The awards ceremony will be held on May 10 at 7 p.m. The public is invited and there will be refreshments following the ceremony. The address for the event is The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, 12701 Torrey Ridge Road, San Diego, CA 92130.