Kyoto laureates announced at local reception


The Inamori Foundation announced the 28th annual Kyoto Prize laureates on June 22, with two selected from the U.S. and one from Japan. Dr. Ivan Edward Sutherland, an American computer scientist, received the Advanced Technology Prize in the field of Information Science; Dr. Yoshinori Ohsumi, a Japanese molecular cell biologist, received the Basic Sciences Prize in the field of Life Science; and Professor Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, an Indian literary critic and educator, received the Arts and Philosophy Prize in the field of Thought and Ethics.

The Kyoto Prize is an international award bestowed by The Inamori Foundation to honor those who have contributed significantly to the scientific, cultural, and spiritual betterment of humankind.

Visit for more information.

Photos: Rob McKenzie