Rancho Santa Fe Cub Scouts earn prestigious Arrow of Light Award


Nine Cub Scouts bridged to becoming Boy Scouts Jan. 12 at the Village Church in Rancho Santa Fe. All nine boys earned the Arrow of Light Award, Cub Scouting’s highest honor.

The boys are (in alphabetical order): Riley Greenwell, Jake Malter, Jacob Marsh, Malcolm McDonough, David Scuba, Ryan Shakiba, Javeed Shapouri, Franco Sims and Adam Slack, under the guidance of Cub Master Desmond Wheatley. Cub Scout leaders include (alphabetical order): Jan Castonguay. Rob Greenwell and Gene Marsh.

Speaking at the ceremony was U.S. Marine Col. Brent Wilson Commanding Officer, Headquarters and Service Battalion at U.S. Marine Corps Forces, Pacific 2011-2013, who is assigned as Senior Marine and Fleet Marine Officer to Commander, U.S. Third Fleet.

Photo by Jon Clark