County Board of Education to fill District 5 vacancy


The San Diego County Board of Education will appoint a board of education member at its meeting on July 8. The appointment will fill the vacant District 5 board seat. District 5 runs along the coast from Del Mar to Camp Pendleton.

The County Board of Education will interview candidates, make an appointment, and swear in the new board member at its regular meeting. Please visit the County Board of Education webpage to view the meeting agenda, which includes the candidate applications.

District 5 candidates are:

Randy Berholtz, San Diego

Shawn He, San Diego

Comischell Bradley-Rodriguez, San Diego

Kara Joan La Russa, Fallbrook

Stephen Cochrane, San Diego

Steven McDowell, Del Mar

Terri Colachis, Del Mar

Virginia Lyn Neylon, Carlsbad

Debra Keel Cooper, San Diego

Ginger S. Relyea, Carlsbad

Miles Durfee, San Diego

Rick Shea, Encinitas

Jason Ge, San Diego

Eve Simmons, Cardiff by the Sea

James Gibson, Oceanside

Scott Wooden, San Diego

The regular board meeting begins at 4 p.m. District 5 process begins: 6 p.m.

Location: San Diego County Office of Education Joe Rindone Regional Technology Center: 6401 Linda Vista Road, San Diego, 92111.

District 5 County Board of Education member Doug Perkins submitted his resignation from the board for long-term health reasons effective June 8.

The application period to fill the vacant seat began on June 12 and ended on July 1. The vacant seat must be filled from the district in which the vacancy occurs by appointment of a majority of the remaining members of the board. In accordance with provisions of the San Diego County Charter, the board has 45 days from the date of a vacancy to make the appointment.

The appointee will hold office until January 2017. A successor will be elected in 2016 to complete the term ending January 2019.