Annette Bening to receive Gregory Peck Award


The San Diego International Film Festival (SDiFF), produced by the San Diego Film Foundation, announced recently that iconic actress Annette Bening will be the recipient of the Gregory Peck Award for Excellence in Cinema. The award will be presented Sept. 29 at The Night of the Stars Tribute at the Museum of Contemporary Art in La Jolla. Now in its 15th year, the San Diego International Film Festival will run from Sept. 28 through Oct. 2 in San Diego.

Annette Bening is a four-time Academy Award nominee, two-time Golden Globe-winner, and two-time recipient of the Screen Actors Guild Award. She will next be seen on screen in Mike Mills’ “20th Century Women,” in Michael Mayer’s adaptation of Anton Chekhov’s play “The Seagull,” and in Warren Beatty’s “Rules Don’t Apply.”

Created in honor of famed actor and San Diego area native Gregory Peck, with the support of his family, this award is given to an individual whose work has made a profound impact on the art of cinema. Launched in 2014, the first recipient of the award was Alan Arkin. This year, 2016 marks Peck’s centennial.

Passes are currently on sale to VIP members and the general public. In addition to screenings and events, passes provide access to the official festival lounge and parties where pass holders interact with Festival filmmakers and professionals in the film community. Individual tickets to The Night of the Stars Tribute will go on sale Aug. 25.

For more information regarding passes/tickets, press accreditation, industry passes, or sponsorship opportunities, please visit